DUI Attorneys in Utah
Pulled Over? Call Pearson Butler for Experienced Counsel
The defense attorneys at Pearson Butler know the seriousness of a drunk driving conviction that can result in jail time, loss of driving privileges, fines, and a ruined reputation. If you’ve been charged with DUI, you’ll want to have an aggressive lawyer representing you who will be dedicated to eliminating or reducing the adverse consequences associated with your charge. With new laws changing the legal limit of alcohol from .08 to .05 in Utah, you cannot afford to leave your rights unprotected. Seek counsel immediately.
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) is a serious criminal act. If you are facing a DUI arrest, felony DUI charges, or a related matter, Pearson Butler can assess your risk according to Utah law and help you fight for your rights. Our criminal defense team is highly experienced and ready to help you today.
Have a seasoned defense attorney evaluate your case. Call (800) 265-2314 to schedule a consultation.
Possible Penalties for a DUI Conviction
Utah punishes DUI severely and even lowered the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit to operate a vehicle from .08 to .05 on December 30, 2018. Because the penalties for DUI can impact a person’s life for years, do not leave yourself exposed.
Potential penalties for DUI in Utah include:
- 120-day to 2-year driver’s license suspension
- Minimum mandatory 2 days in jail on a first offense; and more for subsequent offenses
- Mandatory minimum jail time of 62 days or up to 5 years for felony DUI
- Thousands of dollars in fines and mandatory treatment costs
The key to every DUI charge is understanding your constitutional rights. There are many myths about what rights you have; however, you should not trust second-hand knowledge from friends and co-workers. You need real information from an experienced attorney who knows what your rights are and how to best protect them. At Pearson Butler, our criminal defense team can identify if the police made the mistakes in a field sobriety test, can help you fight an unconstitutional traffic stop, or may be able to show that a police officer has overstepped or abused their power.
DUI Charges in Utah
DUI charges involve two separate but important parts. After you’ve been arrested, you have 10 days to file a request with the Driver License Division (DLD) to preserve your license. If you fail to file that request, or if it’s filed too late, even the best lawyer won’t be able to protect your license. That’s why it’s so important to contact an experienced defense attorney immediately after your arrest. Your lawyer can request a DLD hearing and can fight to preserve your license. For many, this means the difference between a paycheck and unemployment.
In addition to the DLD hearing, you are likely to have a criminal case as well. The courtroom can be an intimidating place filled with lawyers, police officers, and court staff. It is hard to know who’s looking out for you and who’s trying to put you behind bars. Don’t walk in alone. At Pearson Butler, we know the system and we know your case. With our defense team on your side, you can rest easier knowing your rights and best interests are in good hands.
Don’t Be a Victim of the System. Know Your Rights. Call (800) 265-2314.
Pearson Butler has offices in South Jordan, Bountiful, and Utah County. The firm takes on DUI cases across the state. If you are looking for a lawyer who has what it takes to defend your interests, look no further.
Contact Pearson Butler today to speak with a dedicated legal professional.