Utah Misdemeanor Defense Attorneys
We Can Help You Fight Your Misdemeanor Charges
In Utah, misdemeanors are criminal acts punishable by up to one year in county jail. Misdemeanors are typically violations of city and county ordinances, as well as some state laws. Examples of misdemeanors include: DUI/DWI, simple assault, theft, drug possession, public intoxication, and prostitution. In Utah, the statute of limitations for most misdemeanors is two years, meaning charges must be filed within two years of the alleged commission of the crime. Some misdemeanors may be charged as felonies if certain aggravating factors are present. For example, assault with a deadly weapon may be charged as a felony whereas simple assault may be charged as a misdemeanor, or a DUI causing injury may be a felony while a first-time DUI with no injury may constitute a misdemeanor.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, do not forget that you have the right to legal counsel. Making the decision to exercise your Miranda rights is the best thing you can do to protect yourself in this situation. Remain silent and contact an attorney at Pearson Butler who can protect your constitutional rights.
Pearson Butler’s Utah criminal defense lawyers have decades of experience and the resources to competently handle your case. Call (800) 265-2314 for a free consultation.
Utah Misdemeanor Classifications & Penalties
According to Utah Code §76-3-204 and §76-3-301, misdemeanors are classified and penalized as follows:
- Class A Misdemeanor – up to 1 year in jail, up to $2,500 fine
- Class B Misdemeanor – up to 6 months in jail, up to $1,000 fine or compensatory service
- Class C Misdemeanor – up to 90 days in jail, up to $750 fine or compensatory service
Compensatory service applies to Class B and C misdemeanors and allows a person to perform unpaid work or service in lieu of paying a fine. Each hour of such service is worth $10 and may include work performed for nonprofit organizations, state or local government agencies, or other organizations with prior court approval.
Facing misdemeanor allegations or charges? Call (800) 265-2314 and arrange a review of your case. Pearson Butler office is located in South Jordan and takes on cases throughout Utah.